My Succulent Journey: First Steps

My Succulent Journey: First Steps

So I purchased my first plants at the end of March, and since then have bought a few more (and some seeds) and I wanted to document some of what has happened with them.

The first four plants I bought were two “Sedum” plants, which I later learned were actually Graptosedum. After a lot of internet googling I think I narrowed down the ID to the Francesco Baldi. I also learned along this journey that many places that sell succulents (Wal-Mart, Canadian Tire, etc.) that either do not label the plants, or mislabel them. Lots also just put generic names like “Sedum” or “Echeveria” on the plant. Also in those first four plants I bought a Burro’s Tail (Sedum morganianum) and one Echeveria of the Perle von Nurnberg variety.

This is one of the Graptosedum (you can see two shoots in addition to the main plant).

The Burro’s Tail

And my precious Perle

All four of these plants seem to be pretty common and I’ve found a few tips for growing them online, and I’ve also found what works for me. Ya know, in kinda Northern Canada. The Graptosedum seem to like a LOT of light. Lots more than I can really offer from indoors where I live.

[For those who don’t know, when you live this far north the sunlight loses a lot of its strength so even eight hours of light can be the equivalent of four to six hours, or perhaps even less, in more southern climates.]

The Graptosedum also seem to like a pretty small amount of water; the leaves turn yellow and droop in excess water. The Burro’s Tail was getting a few hours outside when it was sunny, but then it seemed to wrinkle a lot. So I moved it inside. And my north window didn’t seem to be doing it any justice, so I moved it to the north-facing window. Now for a lot of plants this is a BAD IDEA since the least amount of sunlight comes through these windows but my Burro’s Tail seems to like dappled ambient light that it gets all day, rather than the more bright light that comes through my west-facing window (for 2-4 hours only in comparison). My Echeveria really likes the sunshine. So I take it outside for 4-8 hours on days when I can so it can soak up the rays. And again, takes a very small amount of water.

Now since I live so far north the sunlight is pretty weak, even in the summertime, a lot of my plants have gotten a bit “leggy”. This is when the spaces between the leaves increases, and how plants attempt to maximize the amount of sun that they can get. Another word for it is etiolated. So when I get some spending cash on my hands I’m going to buy a grow light or two so I can give my plant babies some much needed light. They’re by no means required but for the appearance I’m looking for it should hopefully help a lot.

That’s all about these plants and I definitely have more to write about later!

Leave a Reply

